© Pfarramt St. Augustin


Since the Christianisation of Franconia and Thuringia, Coburg belonged to the Diocese of Würzburg until the beginning of the Reformation in 1524. After this time, the town remained almost entirely Protestant for centuries. After the reunification of the Free State of Coburg with Bavaria, the Coburg State Church joined the Bavarian State Church in 1921. They formed their own deanery in Coburg. Multiple churches bore witness to this historic development.


St. Moriz

© Coburg Marketing

St. Augustin

© Coburg Marketing


© Ingo Böhme

St. Nikolaus

© Coburg Marketing


© Pfarramt St. Moriz

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.