Town hall: Masterpiece of Renaissance architecture
Short facts
- Coburg
- Sights
On the south side of Coburg’s market square stands the town hall, a symbol of the town’s rich architectural and cultural history. First mentioned in 1414, the building originally served as both a town hall and a commercial space. As Coburg grew, a second Renaissance-style building was added in 1580 by master builder Hans Schlachter. This addition featured the iconic Coburg oriel (Coburger Erker), completed in 1578. In the mid-18th century, the two adjacent buildings were visually merged into a single unified structure. Atop the gable, the figure of Saint Maurice, Coburg’s patron saint, has stood here since 1750. Locals affectionately call the figure the ‘Bratwurstmännle’ (little bratwurst man), because the baton he holds represents the ideal length of a Coburg bratwurst: 31 cm when raw. Another highlight of the building is the grand council hall on the second floor, considered one of the most impressive Renaissance interiors in Franconia.
On the map
Rathaus
Markt 1
96450 Coburg
Germany
Phone: +49 9561 89-0
E-mail: info@coburg.de
Good to know
Saturday, Sunday


